Annual Report of the NSTU Curriculum Committee

The members of the Curriculum Committee for the 2010-2011 academic year were:

Grant Dunn – Chair Nathan Orman

Brenda Zwicker Stéphane Richard

Debbie Davis-Maybee Brenda Butler – Provincial Executive

Dayna Enguehard liaison

Ernestine Oakley Ron Brunton – Staff liaison

The Committee meetings took place on September 17, 2010, March 28, 2011, and May 13, 2011.

The first meeting included the review of NSTU policy for the Policy Review process. The Committee has established the practice of inviting the Director of English Program Services to the first meeting for a discussion concerning specific topics raised by the Committee as well as for an overview of Department of Education directions for the year. The current Director, Ann Blackwood, attended accompanied by John Fahie, IT consultant for the Department, and Donna Karsten, the Department's mathematics consultant.

Mr. Fahie talked about the implementation process for iNSchool, the student information system. He addressed the concerns raised by Committee members who reflected the comments of teachers from across the province. The Committee notes that over the course of the year, the student information system and the implementation process have undergone some change from what was presented at this meeting and that this has resulted in considerable confusion for teachers. The Committee also recommends that boards provide much more consistent and extensive training for teachers in the use of the system.

Ms. Karsten described how the Department has been proceeding with the revision of the Nova Scotia mathematics curriculum. Since that presentation, the Department has decided to implement the Western Protocol rather than continue with the Provincial mathematics curriculum development.

Ms. Blackwood also talked about the needs of Grade Primary students and teachers and noted the commitment of the department to support both as much as possible.

At the second meeting, March 28th, the Committee reviewed the curriculum resolutions for Council 2011 and made recommendations where appropriate. The Committee was hoping Dr. Alan Lowe, Senior Executive Director for the Department of Education would join the Committee in the afternoon, but he was unable to attend.

The final meeting of the year took place on May 13th. The Committee reviewed the Minister's response to the BLAC Report and the NSTU response to the Ben Levin Report. In the afternoon, Sylvia Parris, from the Department of Education who discussed the Racial Equity Policy and the Student Achievement Gap project. This conversation provided some important insights into the challenges facing students of African descent as well as the challenges facing students who belong to other visibly identifiable groups.

The Committee also heard from the Committee member from CSANE who had attended the Comité as a liaison between the English and Francophone NSTU curriculum committees. This was seen as a useful communication between the two groups.

The Committee recommended Nathan Orman for Chair of the Committee for the 2011-2012 academic year.